Baked Eggs with Spinach & Roasted Garlic

A funny thing happened last night. In the fridge was plenty of food, including gorgeous grass-fed bone-in NY steaks from Fallon Hills Ranch that I got from the market that morning. When I bought them, I was picturing an effortless meal for that night, well deserved after a wonderful vacation in Portland that included a lot of driving the day before. Dinner time came and went, and I couldn’t deny the fact (are you sitting down?) that I was not in the mood for steak. I was in the mood for mac & cheese, actually, but that wasn’t happening. While I do occasionally indulge in non-paleo goodness such as gluten-free pasta smothered in kick-ass homemade cheese sauce, there wasn’t a noodle to be found in the pantry, and I was NOT getting back in the car after spending 11 hours in it.

It’s looking like a breakfast for dinner kind of night.

I put some bacon in the oven and spent some more time staring at the contents of the fridge, waiting for something amazing to jump out at me. 2 eggs over medium next to a few slices of bacon just wasn’t sounding exciting to me at this late dinner hour. I wanted something more comforting than that, damnit, and I’m not one to settle in the food department…

pretty sexy, as far as eggs go.

Baked Eggs with Spinach & Roasted Garlic

serves 2

4 pastured eggs
1 T butter
2 T heavy cream
a few cloves of roasted garlic (optional- I had some lying around)
2 handfuls raw baby spinach or other leafy greens
sea salt
black pepper

  • preheat the oven to 400˚.
  • Wilt the spinach in a pan with some butter, or if you made bacon to go with your eggs, in the bacon fat.
  • In each of 2 oven safe ramekins, place  1/2 T butter and 1 T cream.
  • Place ramekins on a baking sheet and place in the hot oven for 2 minutes, or until the butter is melted and the cream is warm.
  • Remove the baking sheet and ramekins from the oven and add half the spinach to each one, making a bit of a nest.
  • Carefully crack open 2 eggs into each spinach nest. (Feel free to crack them into a separate dish if you’re worried about them making it into the ramekins with the yolks intact. It’s important for this dish.)
  • Sprinkle with salt and pepper, and a few cloves roasted garlic, if you’re using it.
  • Return to the oven and bake for 15 minutes, or until the whites are just barely cooked.

Serve with the best bacon you can find.

I thought I overcooked these while glued to an episode of Iron Chef America (battle gruyere, perhaps the reason for my mac & cheese cravings), but when I broke into it, the yolks were still perfectly runny and creamy.

This entry was posted in Bacon, Breakfast, Dinner, Eggs, primal, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

