Grain-Free Waffles

I bought a waffle iron. It was kind of a big deal, mainly because I had formerly put it in the “kitchen appliances I don’t need” category. What changed my mind? Freaking Pinterest. Having a catering company that is basically a one woman show with the exception of servers and bartenders means that I spend a lot of time on the computer writing menus, doing paperwork, engaging in social media to promote my business and of course wasting time on sites like Pinterest. So I saw a picture of a paleo waffle and Had. To. Have. It.

Then I made the recipe that was the reason for the waffle iron purchase. The result? a big fat meh. Which is fine, because I have this here blog, and love creating recipes and sharing them with you. I hope you enjoy them!

These waffles are divine with nectarines and plums, especially when they’re fresh from the farmers market.

Nothing wrong with going classic; good butter and real maple syrup.

Grain-Free Waffles

makes 4 large waffles

1 1/2 cups almond flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup cream or coconut milk
4 eggs, separated
3 T butter or coconut oil, melted, plus more for brushing the waffle iron
2 T honey
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • With a hand held or stand mixer, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form.
  • In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients (almond flour through salt) and stir with a whisk.
  • Combine the wet ingredients (cream through vanilla, including egg yolks) in a medium bowl and then combine with the dry ingredients.
  • Gently fold in the egg whites.
  • Heat your waffle iron to medium high and brush with butter or coconut oil.
  • Ladle 1/4 of the waffle mixture into the waffle iron and close, cooking for about 3-4 minutes. This will depend a lot on your specific waffle iron I’m guessing, so check your waffle after a minute or 2.

These waffles come out nice and fluffy and light (for almond flour waffles anyway) but not exactly crispy. I found they were improved by popping them into the toaster for a bit to give them some crisp. They are a perfect item to make ahead and refrigerate or freeze, and toast for a quick breakfast.

  • Serve with grassfed butter, real maple syrup, fresh fruit, almond butter… The possibilities are just about endless. Personally, these with some good ice cream and berries would be my ideal dessert. If you’re looking for a real treat, and/or are trying to impress someone, go with Bacon Jam.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert, grain-free and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grain-Free Waffles

  1. girlmeetspaleo says:

    Now your recipe will have me digging out my waffle iron! These look delish!!

  2. smguti says:

    They look amazinggggggg. You rock!!
    -Susie

  3. arfoodie says:

    I’ve been missing waffles (the Udis GF are good, but not the same as my homemade), so this looks amazing! Never thought of using almond flour.

  4. Lovefood says:

    Can you make these as a pancake – no waffle maker at my house!

  5. Tara Wagner says:

    Thank you for this one! All my grain-free waffles were turning out really dense. These ones were PERFECT! ❤

Leave a Reply

